Team Rosberg wins first Extreme-E race

Team Rosberg wins first Extreme-E race

Nico Rosberg's team won the first race in the history of the Extreme E electric off-road racing series with the driver pairing of Johan Kristoffersson and Molly Taylor, but the event was marred by two serious accidents.

Rosberg X Racing (RXR) won the first Extreme E race weekend in Al-Ula, Saudi Arabia, ahead of Andretti United (driver: Timmy Hansen / Catie Munnings) and X44, Lewis Hamilton's team (driver: Sébastien Loeb / Cristina Gutiérrez).

The events, known as the "X-Prix", are run on a knockout basis. After a qualifying run as individual time trials, three teams compete against each other to determine the three finalists, where the team of ex-Formula 1 world champion Nico Rosberg, who was present at the event, came out on top against the US team Andretti and the team of his Formula 1 team-mate and opponent Lewis Hamilton.

However, the overtaking manoeuvre that decided the race took place as early as in the first turn of the final race, after which Kristoffersson and later Taylor were able to manage the advantage - due to the heavy dust and thus the poor visibility in the desert it was very difficult to closely follow other cars.

"Awesome, I'm so grateful for what the whole team did," said team boss Rosberg. "We all worked so well together, everything fell into place. Molly and Johan did a super job and drove perfectly."